2600HPS Anchor Size

baychamp

What type of anchoring setup do the 26HPS owners use that actually fits in the locker?  The largest anchor I can find seems to be a 10lb which seems light even w 10’ of chain.   I will use it prob in 10-15 knots on barrier islands, overnights and on the occasional hard bottoms in 15-20’ of water.  Any suggestions are appreciated.  Thanks in advance. 

2 hours ago, Bamaskeet said:

You might want to checkout a Danforth Hi Tensile

Let me second that suggestion from Bamaskeet.  I've been using a 5 lb Danforth Hi-Tensile anchor for over 10 years on the 2000V Pathfinder and the current 2200 TRS.  6 foot of chain and this thing has never not held the boat, even in storm conditions (don't ask).  It fits in the locker but can slide off the groove make to hold the stocks.  I simply added 2 SS screws to keep it from sliding one way or the other...

Anchor.thumb.JPG.02d5dff06a701a06444feb2edf66f255.JPG

In rough going, it can bounce up and out of the grooves, so I added a couple of hasps to keep it down...

IMG_2541.thumb.jpg.caee5ab354b2da9d13132baffa2b1fec.jpg

They also make a 12 H but I think that would be overkill for your size boat.

The Danforth holds incredibly well in sand, mud, etc.  Its only problem is with a very grassy bottom where the anchor tends to quickly gather a ball of grass as you back down and if the ball gets big enough to engulf the flukes, it will not dig in.

Oh, and they are manufactured right here in Atlanta, if "American Made" is important to you, as it should be.