Carbon Filter in gas line

Fishician

Hello Guys: I just had yearly service on my 2015 Redfisher 16. I was told never to over fill the gas tank because it will cause a major problem with the carbon filter. This is the first time that I heard of this potential issue. I tried to find out more on this issue on line but came up short. Any thoughts?? 

As always thanks for your help on this matter

U.S. E.P.A.  rule from 2012 require fuel vent line charcoal filters . This should work similar to the charcoal canister in the evaporate system of your car or truck.  I had not heard of a carbon filter but I have heard of the charcoal filters in the vent line .  Joe R

I can't imagine installing a filter, of any type, in a fuel system that's not capable of being exposed to fuel in its liquid state. I'm no expert on newer fuel systems and the dealer may be right but it sounds weird to me. 

Theres never been a mechanical emissions component invented that wasn't easily circumvented with a couple clamps and a length of hose, pipe, tube, etc...:ph34r: