Bunks for lift 25 PF

bsh102

Are newly purchased home on the water came with a 10k lift with standard wooded bunks. They were spaced what looked acceptable for our 25 stepped hull. I was looking at the way the bunks were supporting the hull and I am not really liking were they are located. Does anyone have or know what the spacing should be between bunks. They are 12’ long bunks. Thanks for any help.

I’m not an expert, but maybe my personal Lift experience can help.  
Many times I have seen where the advise is to have the bunks at the distance to match where your boat stringers are.  Start by looking at the bunks on your trailer or You can look in your rear center hatch and get the measurement for either side..and then set your bunks to be the same width.  Moving the bunks is easy enough to climb out and loosen the bolts (having tethers on each wrench will save you from going back to the store for more), then just move each bunk a couple inches at a time at each end (a rubber mallet or hammer does the trick) till you get the desired width. Your bunks are set so that the last boat was centered as it sat Away from the the guide poles and also from a dock extension between the vertical beams, if you have one.   Measure the distance from center of cradle where the bunks are set and compare front and rear to your boat, you will have to reset that distance to safely keep your boat side off off any dock extension and to not have the boat pushing against the guide poles (But you can move the guide poles separately once you have the side of you boat at the distance you want front the dock extension.