Question regarding set-up with livewell AND recirculating pump set-up

MikeH

I have a 2008 21' Maverick Master Angler. I bought it used. The main livewell has both a regular livewell set-up fed by a Rule 800GPH pump. It also has a Tsunami pump set up to operate as a recirculating system. For what reasons do people use the recirculating function? Crabs and shrimp? 

50 minutes ago, MikeH said:

I have a 2008 21' Maverick Master Angler. I bought it used. The main livewell has both a regular livewell set-up fed by a Rule 800GPH pump. It also has a Tsunami pump set up to operate as a recirculating system. For what reasons do people use the recirculating function? Crabs and shrimp? 

Recirculating pump is good in July and August here in South Georgia when the water temps are very high....if you get a couple dozen pogies in a live well while looking for Tarpon or Tripletail, and they get too hot..they will start dying off. I sometimes even throw some ice in the well to refresh them.  I’ve never had a problem with shrimp or mullet. Just menhaden.

• Like 1

I use mine when I go from the coast to deep inside because of the salinity change.

Also I have found that My recirculating system will pull grass and debris to the  suction screen which helps me get ahold of it for disposal keeping my live well cleaner after a straight from the net bait dump.

Also like Capt. Troy says... For shrimp and crabs use a shorter stand pipe.

Yes I agree.  "Just menhaden"  Here we call them Herring which I realize is not really correct. The Hard scale baits we call Pilchards do so much better. Much hardier bait.  

We fill, reseal and freeze water bottles to cool the water in summer. 

• Like 1

On 5/17/2021 at 6:28 PM, smilemaker said:

you must have a stainless steel ziplock bag to prevent them from pocking holes.

ONce you get them on ice, they just go into a state of annimaiton

No digging around a hot live well only to find pink shrimp floating around