O.T.

TC

Question for all you diesel truck owners, I just purchased a new 2016 GMC Sierra 2500HD with a 6.6 Duramax. First diesel for me. Should I be using a fuel additive? Truck is brand new. If, so what are your suggestions. How often, what additive etc...

I'm sure you're gonna get a lot of advice. So I guess I'll go first. I've been using Lucas fuel treatment in mine for 10 years, all the time, three ounces per ten gallons as suggested. I'll be honest though the main reason was the earlier Duramax motors had injector issues (my Dads '02 went through 2 sets in 175K miles) and I was scared. Lucas was marketed as a way to protect the injectors. Have no idea if this is true, don't really care to be honest. I just do it.

Ultra Low Sulfur Diesel is what we have to deal with.

That said I use the additive from Ford for my 6.7 simply as they state it provides extra lubrication that is lacking in today's fuel.

It may just be snake oil but it makes me feel better as I know what it costs if you lose an injector pump on one of these engines. :o

What is the additive Capt Troy? Do you get it from the dealer? I just bought a 6.7 Powerstroke a few weeks ago and I was wondering the same thing. Pulls the boat like a dream though. I also have a 6.0 Powerstroke 2004 model that I never used any additives in and haven't had any problems in 200k miles. This new pollution requirements have me wondering if I should treat this one differently. Thanks

Save your money. We put over 800K miles on our trucks when we trade them in, never use any additives.

Just be sure to change oil and filters when required and only use quality ones.

What you should do is save up for the repairs that will be needed on the Re-Gen system.

one more suggestion, only buy fuel from a high volume dealer like a truck stop. Old fuel or bugged fuel will kill your engine.