Flo torq hub help

2003 Yamaha HPDI VMAX 2.7L

Picked up a nice Merc Rev 4 from a forum member but need a hub. I am not a prop guy at all. Ordered a 835274Q1 flo torq 2 kit. Do I need the 835271Q2?

At sons soccer games all weekend and the amazon return clock is ticking. Would appreciate any help. If the pictures on Amazon are correct the difference seems to be a thicker vs thin washer but again I don’t know. Current prop is PT OFX 4. 

1 hour ago, brew1891 said:

2003 Yamaha HPDI VMAX 2.7L

Picked up a nice Merc Rev 4 from a forum member but need a hub. I am not a prop guy at all. Ordered a 835274Q1 flo torq 2 kit. Do I need the 835271Q2?

At sons soccer games all weekend and the amazon return clock is ticking. Would appreciate any help. If the pictures on Amazon are correct the difference seems to be a thicker vs thin washer but again I don’t know. Current prop is PT OFX 4. 

You need a 835271Q2

https://www.boatpropellerwarehouse.com/catalog/369/mercury-quicksilver-hub-kits

https://www.boatpropellerwarehouse.com/product/30364/flo-torq-ii-yamaha-150-300-hp-hpdi-2-stroke-hub-kit-quicksilver-835271q2

You're welcome!  If you're thinking of getting a spare, you could try another option to compare with...

The Flo-Torq II is a good hub, but is made of hard Delrin plastic.  Solas/Rubex makes a nice one made of bronze encased inside a rubber hub insert that dampens shift clunk and vibration, more like the Yamaha SDS hub does.  It's the RBX-203B:

https://www.amazon.com/Solas-RBX-203B-Bronze-Yamaha-75-225/dp/B01AFFXPMO/

Also, Mercury came out with a rubber hub of the same type called the Flo-Torq SSR, but I'm not sure if they make one to fit your Yamaha.  Here's the brochure on it:

Flo Torq SSR.pdf

4 hours ago, Wanaflatsfish said:

I would just get a composite get home prop...I carry one for the sho 250..

if you spin a hub on the water it will be a challenge to reinsert the hub and then change a heavy prop in the water

a composite is light and easy.