Redfisher 18 Trim Tab Covers

Fsu11

Well....... once again lenco bites the dust and the crappy spot welds they do on their trim tab blades broke again. This time it decided to rip off the fiberglass cover and now I need to replace it. Any suggestions or ideas other than just removing both of them? I know MBG doesnt stock or isnt able to help with it so i'm assuming I will need to take it to a fiberglass shop to have it recreated based on the other side that is still good. Any ideas of what this might run me so I can be prepared to pay a fair price?

also future note once i get the new trim blade installed i am going to be drilling through the welds and thru bolting so this never happens again.

trim tab.jpg

trim tab1.jpg

• Sad 1

Good info on this - I need to check my MA tabs, after 23 years, I wonder how much longer they have.   I'd hate to break of that cover!

I do wonder if those covers are universal for all their models.   Might be worth checking.  I have a Master Angler and that looks exactly the same size and shape.  If they are all the same, you might find something at a junk yard or try THT to see if anyone has scrap ones laying around.    A lot of folks pull those off.

18 hours ago, whichwaysup said:

Good info on this - I need to check my MA tabs, after 23 years, I wonder how much longer they have.   I'd hate to break of that cover!

I do wonder if those covers are universal for all their models.   Might be worth checking.  I have a Master Angler and that looks exactly the same size and shape.  If they are all the same, you might find something at a junk yard or try THT to see if anyone has scrap ones laying around.    A lot of folks pull those off.