Anti Siphon Valve

Edgeag85

I recently purchased a 2004 2200 Tournament Edition.  We have run it several times and recently noted that at higher RPMs (4k) the engine becomes starved for fuel and shuts down.  At lower RPMs all is ok.  Noted last time that primer bulb was flat.  Reading various posts seems to indicate this is symptom of a bad anti siphon valve.  My issue is that since I am not a mechanic I have no idea where this valve is.  I took the inspection cover off under the console this weekend but didn't see anything that looked like what I should be looking for.  Any help on where, ease in replacing,etc.  Thanks in advance.

Yep!! It's not very big or obvious. It threads into the outlet on top of the tank and is only about the size of your bird finger. One end has threads and the other end has a barbed fitting that fits inside the fuel supply hose. Remove the hose first, then using two wrenches, hold the fitting nearest to the tank and unthread the valve.  

You are probably on the right tract. However, if this doesn't solve your problem, I'll give you another possibility that I had on my previous boat. 

Was the boat stored for a period of time with regular gas, i.e. with ethanol? Ethanol will degrade older fuel lines. The degraded fuel line will act like a weak straw. The fuel lines work OK at lower RPMs but will collapse at high RPMs. The solution is to replace the fuel lines and filters. Worked like a charm for my old boat.

Yep!! Mike is right. A flat bulb indicates a fuel restriction between the bulb and the tank, ( anti-siphon valve, fuel lines, fuel filter ). The anti-siphon valve is usually cheap and easy to change. If that doesn't solve the problem, try a new bulb and fuel filter, then do fuel hoses last. It a matter of elimination by replacing the cheap and easy stuff first.  

3 hours ago, SCFD rtrd. said: