Need Advice on Boat Lift Bunks...

PGIPath

I'm buying a 2017 Pathfinder 2500 Hybrid and need advice on setting up an existing boat lift (came with a house I'm moving into).  The lift has straight bunks.  Do I need to modify those bunks to accommodate the stepped hull?  On the lift, is it true that the weight of the boat should be in the keel and not on the bunks?  I'm new to boat lifts, so any advice appreciated!

Are the OP's bunks adjustable? My lift bunks are moderately angled outward towards the stern where my PF (and most boats) flattens out. My advice is to use your trailer as a guide for the stern, and narrow the bow in about 6-12" on each side. Try it and see how it works.  You can always adjust the bunks from your boat - easy if you have a remote.

P.S.  I also took a turn out of my stern cables so the boat is at a solid 10+ degree bow rise. At first it looked like too great of an angle but my dock guy told me I'd get used to it - and appreciate that water never pools in the boat. He was right!

PGIPath,,

i am assuming you have a cable lift. I you have a direct drive, some of the below won't apply.

I installed a new lift last spring and was also new to the power lift world. Although not a 25 hybrid, I first called Ray at MBG to get some advice. He said no matter what, support the hull at the stringers, and he told me where they were. On a 22TE, slightly outside of the Center console. I asked about of the CG, b/c the lift manufacturer said to place equidistant from the four cables as possible., and Ray said approx. at the steering wheel.

I worried about drainage, but the installer told me the bow cables were slightly shorter than the stern cables, so as to have a "natural" slope to the stern.