Steering question

mdemott

2012, 20ft Bay Boat with 150 hp Motor, SeaStar steering

Steering is "lumpy" above 1100 RPM the steering wheel will turn normally about a quarter turn and then provide resistance. When you physically overcome this minor resistance it turns about a another quarter turn and then repeats. When engine is at idle turning is very smooth. Running a 14.2 x 18 RH three blade prop.
Drained and refilled the steering system in February 2017.

Anybody have any thoughts on this?

32 minutes ago, Bamaskeet said:

I would adjust the anode under the cavatation plate to see if it improves the situation.

I think he’s referring to the adjustable torque tab above the prop. I’m not an expert, but he’s on to something.....it looks like a rigging/motor position issue more than a fluid/steer system problem. Do you have a jackplate? My 22TE is nearly impossible to steer when the motor is down and speed is high. Your problem seems to worsen with higher speeds/RPMs. As I raise the JP, steering improves to normal. Pretty much the same for all flats boats and I assume one of the major reasons they were invented. IOW...JPs do a lot more than allow shallow water running.

if the bump is somewhat repeatable as you turn the wheel I would think the valves in the helm are sticking and requiring more force to turn. I would search around for people having issues with sticky valves in sea star helms.

You can take the  torque tab completely  off for a test run. if the problem persist no adjustment will improve your situation.

I don't think its the trim tab (torque tab, anode, whatever you wanna call it) on the cavitation plate. if it was, the steering would get progressively harder as your speed increased due to the increased pressure on the tab, I don't think it would be intermittent as you described either.