21' Maverick Poling Platform

JT Quinta

Hey Guys, I'm new to MBG Forum.Com and just purchased a 2007 / 21' Master Angler with a 250HP VMAX. This is not my first "flats boat" and I am old enough to know that when trolling motors were NOT an option...., you actually had to pole a boat on the flats to get around quietly. My new 21' had the poling platform removed and sold - I guess. My question is: I found and can buy a used poling platform off of another 21' and install it exactly where it's supposed to go but really...., can this boat be readily poled w/o the pole'r being a gorilla?  I mean granted, the platform does give you a huge height boost but the boat sure looks clean w/o the platform. Thanks in advance.   

Been there couldn't do that...LOL. I've been on multiple 21' "flats boats' and the polling platform usually is great for looking from an elevated position and not so much for long term poling. You can definitely pole it if you know where the fish are and you want to ease up on them, but scouting around for even a few hours and you'll realize it's not fun especially if there is any wind at all. With the remote trolling motors now as well, you can stand up there and run the TM by yourself which is awesome. 

The boat was built with one on it standard and I would highly recommend having one for the height advantage alone. 

BTW...you're not allowed to mention you have 21' MA without showing pics!!! Welcome to the forum. Lots of great, knowledgeable peeps on here. 

1 hour ago, FMB MEGALOPS said: