Flats Advice

Fatherof4

Hello All.  I need some advice.  I have been fishing saltwater for over 30 years.  Owned numerous boats.  Last year, I bought my first brand new boat.  It is an offshore style.  I am looking for an inshore boat, and always wanted a Flats boat.  I know ZERO about them.  I, of course, know the Hewes/Maverick name, and the quality associated with them.  I love inshore fishing as well.  I am looking for an older/used flats boat.  I would guess minimum of 18'.  Thinking 21' would be great.  Most of the time, would be 2 people fishing.  My wife and myself.  Occasionally, 3 people.  I would like to be in the 10-12k neighborhood. 

Please feel free to offer any and all advice, thoughts, what to look for, what to stay away from, etc.  I am in Central AL, but, can travel to pretty much anywhere. 

8 minutes ago, Fatherof4 said:

I will primarily fish the FL Panhandle (Port St Joe/Apalachicola) as well as Mobile area.  Shallow draft not a major concern, just 12" or more is fine.  What is the diff in the MA vs the HPX series?

The MA and the redfishers are more general flats boats.  Theg are designed to do many things well.  They are bigger (wider beam), heavier, more stable, and the MA is going to keep you very dry and comfortable when making choppy crossings of larger bodies of water.   

The HPX is a technical poling skiff and does what it does exceptionally well.   It will run skinny, pole easily, and chase skinny water fish.   It will be tippier, and depending on which model you get, may sacrifice ride confort a bit more than the gemeral flats boats might.   

Based on where you are fishing, either would be good boats, but I would lean towards the larger MA/RF models if you fish three often and based on your budget.  I dont know that you need to go more than 18' though.