OOPS!!

Lap it Up

I didn't take it.  A friend sent it to me.  At first I thought it was photo shopped but it looks real.  I know that beach well. Another friend of mine had his 17 Seasquirt pull two anchors and float 40+ miles to Marathon from that same beach. Shrimp boat found it, he got lucky. 

Just curious, how would that happen????  Do they lay over on the  chine on the outgoing, then water saturated with sand lap over the gunwhales on the incoming?????  To the point that sand clogs up the bilge pump?????

Should they have been anchored bow out and stern in?

I have some experience in these matters, by the way.

2 hours ago, JEM said:

Just curious, how would that happen????  Do they lay over on the  chine on the outgoing, then water saturated with sand lap over the gunwhales on the incoming?????

Saw those all over Facebook and that seems to be the prevailing theory on how it happened perhaps while they were sleeping I guess. Curious too from those that have been there. Everglades I reckon? Guess they had a sense of humor about it...unless that lil zebco in the Maverick survived the carnage! 

5 hours ago, blackacre said:

Seems like this wasn't the only boat there. 

image.jpeg

That second pic gives a new meaning to "East Cape". I too would be interested to hear what happened, as like the others have spent many nights camping out there. Maybe I can learn from their adventure…not enough anchors out, why not run to the canal, etc? No doubt, if you're not prepared for the fronts that come thru this time of year, this is a reality and the hassle of camping on the outside. That being said, maybe these guys were on top of it--not boats that are usually owned by newbies...