NEED HELP! Pics of used 17 MA.....

Latchkey85

Hi All!  

After years of waiting, saving, and searching I have finally found a used 17 Master Angler that I feel confident in making an offer on.  I have never posted on this forum before since I am not a MBG owner so please allow me to introduce myself.   I live in New York and want a Maverick because I love to fly fish and want a flats boats for the casting space and clean deck layout.  Also, I love the low free board and the ride of a flats boats!!!  There is nothing like your hair blowing in the wind as the water rushes by.  There are lots of flats in the Northeast that hold striped bass, blue fish and false albacore and the MA would allow me to sight fish in skinny waters.  I am a Marine Corps vet (2001-2007; Iraq August 04-March 05) and hope that I can get some advice from the community here so that I don't get burned on a bad deal.  

I have read the 2000 MA stringer repair thread by whichwaysup, and wanted to check with you guys to get your opinions.  I do plan on getting a survey as suggested by WhichWaysUP (WWU) in his post. My concern is that the survey won't find all of the damage (if any), or MAJOR DAMAGE (if any).  What happens if you pay for a survey and they miss something like a crack in the hull or a major engine issue?  Are there any recourses that you can take against the surveyors or are you SOL?   

I'm also concerned about the fact that the boat I am interested in had the bottom freshly painted with anti-fouling paint and you can't see the hull.  The previous owner must have had this slipped.  What if the previous owner cracked the hull and did a quick patch job and then covered it up with paint?  Is there any way to check? e.g. A "carfax" for boats? (or a way to check for insurance claims?)